ClubTread Community
Register | Active Topics | Top 10 | Search | Guidelines | Report Spam
Username:
Password:
  Login   Donate
Support ClubTread
  Trail Wiki
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Lodge
 The Lodge
 Shaw Cable Modem users, upgrade available
Bookmark and Share     Reply to Topic
Next Page
Author Topic
Page: of 2
ClubTread Supporter

Ronbo
Senior Member

Edited by
Ron Paley

Maple Ridge, B.C.
Canada

1438 Posts

 Posted - 06/18/2007 :  6:04 PM  Show Profile  Reply to this posting
I just exchanged my old Shaw Cable modem for a free new one made by Motorola. I went to the Surrey Shaw office which was the closest for me and exchanged it. My download and upload speeds are much faster. A bonus for me was I also got free internet for one month.

See Link below for a speed test. Click on the Seattle link http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/

My download speed was 3784 kbps out of 5,000 (over 3500 kbps at peak time is good)

My upload speed was 465 kbps out of 500 (over 400 kbps at peak time is good)


Cheers,
Ron Paley
ClubTread Supporter

The Hiker
Advanced Member

Fleece thong wearin, Buntzen Lurkin, mystic poet mountain man and international spokesman of the friends of the white squirrel society

Port Moody, B.C.
Canada

6115 Posts

 Posted - 06/18/2007 :  6:27 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Humm with Telus I got 1328 kbps & 466
Maybe it's time for a change.

ShadowChaser
GPS Geek

Trail cuttin, GPS packin bushwhacker, wiki hike compilin, who is now Hope-less


2573 Posts

 Posted - 06/18/2007 :  6:29 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by The Hiker

Humm with Telus I got 1328 kbps & 466
Maybe it's time for a change.



1328 kbps is almost the theoretical maximum, minus overhead, for an ASDL 1.5mb/s line.

Also note that Shaw has packet shapers, while Telus does not. Telus also has remote POP access - Shaw doesn't. If you're after raw speed on HTTP, Shaw will almost always be faster.
ClubTread Supporter

shaggy
Senior Member

Cycling guru, Wig wearing, James Bond wannabe, answers to the call of "Eurobabe"

Langley
Canada

1232 Posts

 Posted - 06/18/2007 :  6:38 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
2650 on telus
While in the middle of downloading a 2.6GB file.
and 2 laptops being used on the network wirelessly.

LongShadow
Founder

Big pack hiker who sleeps with bears in tent and falls on slippery logs

Langley, BC
Canada

7687 Posts

 Posted - 06/18/2007 :  7:29 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Just tried it. 4847d, 92u on shaw.

TheShadow
Advanced Member

Mysterious, pop can stove stashin', gps totin', overnighter virgin, wannabe tentmaker and foul weather wuss who rides a thumper to the trailhead with wonderdog Max to hike the Chilliwack Valley

Chwk
Canada

5082 Posts

 Posted - 06/19/2007 :  12:04 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
2856 Download (on SHAW)
287 Upload.

These must be MAXIMUMS because I don't usually have such numbers when downloading anything!
I have notice that the ONLY time I consistently get over 200 KB/s when downloading is with LINUX, Windows seems to have some sort of built-in choke to limit the download speeds.

That is MY experience, your results may vary.

goatboy
Junior Member



122 Posts

 Posted - 06/19/2007 :  06:38 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Just got 5929 down/480 up..with my old non-DOCSIS (Terayon)cable modem..at 6:30AM
Speed last night was ~1200 down/300 up
On cable it really depends on the use(users) in your area.
ClubTread Supporter

eco_matt
Junior Member


North Vancouver, BC
Canada

363 Posts

 Posted - 06/19/2007 :  2:08 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I also did this upgrade a few months ago. Huge improvements in download speeds.
ClubTread Supporter

WestCoastPaddler
Senior Member


Langley, BC
Canada

1544 Posts

 Posted - 06/19/2007 :  2:33 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hmmm...

2860 download, 680 upload at work (Telus).

-----

swebster
Senior Member


New Westminster, BC
Canada

1369 Posts

 Posted - 06/19/2007 :  2:39 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
You can pay more for faster speeds with both Telus and Shaw. They both offer 4 different speed levels I believe. Check their websites.
ClubTread Supporter

AcesHigh
Advanced Member


Chilliwack, BC
Canada

7500 Posts

 Posted - 06/19/2007 :  3:15 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I told Shaw to come pickup their cable modem months ago.
Reason being they kept assigning me an IP which was in the spam database (SORBS-Spam and Open-Relay Blocking System) and then told me for $20 more per month they would assign me an IP not in the sorbs spam database. Basically told them to shove it politely.

deeks
Intermediate Member


Fraser Valley, BC
Canada

655 Posts

 Posted - 06/19/2007 :  4:00 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
6675d 5703u but that's on my slow connection

msulkers
Senior Member


Whistler, BC
Canada

1390 Posts

 Posted - 06/19/2007 :  8:06 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
OK guys, this is nuts. I have Shaw Cable in Whistler and I'm getting 555d and 213u. Ideas what might be happening?

ClubTread Supporter

Farmer
Advanced Member

Outward Bound author of the Seinfeld Thread, who builds his own snowshoes

Troy, MT
USA

3283 Posts

 Posted - 06/19/2007 :  8:15 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
4763 download & 489 upload

msulkers
Senior Member


Whistler, BC
Canada

1390 Posts

 Posted - 06/19/2007 :  8:17 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
According to Shaw "that's good for Whistler." Seems like our "high-speed" cable feed is the issue...we don't get a service like that in Van.
ClubTread Supporter

martin
Advanced Member

Grouse Grinding, GPS carrying, lawn chair packing, bike riding North Shore tech addict who stares at Crown Mountain from his office window all day

North Vancouver
Canada

2022 Posts

 Posted - 06/19/2007 :  8:27 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by msulkers

OK guys, this is nuts. I have Shaw Cable in Whistler and I'm getting 555d and 213u. Ideas what might be happening?



All the data going to Whistler has to slow down to 50kmh after Lions Bay.

Paulo
Intermediate Member


Vancouver, BC
Canada

769 Posts

 Posted - 06/21/2007 :  7:57 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
8630d 830u on Shaw in Central Vancouver with a modem about two years old.

LongShadow
Founder

Big pack hiker who sleeps with bears in tent and falls on slippery logs

Langley, BC
Canada

7687 Posts

 Posted - 06/21/2007 :  8:36 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by deeks

6675d 5703u but that's on my slow connection



Hehe just tried it from the hosting fac. 38444d, 10352u

caurala
Junior Member


Calgary, AB
Canada

378 Posts

 Posted - 06/21/2007 :  8:47 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
4838/484 - not bad, not get. With a new Shaw modem
ClubTread Supporter

BeerSnob
Intermediate Member


Vancouver, BC
655 Posts

 Posted - 06/22/2007 :  9:46 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
8994 down and 975 up with Shaw with the Motorola (downtown Vanc, none of that Lions Bay stuff here )

Edited by - BeerSnob on 06/22/2007 9:47 PM

Shadee
sweet n innocent

ass wigglin, cheese lovin, 4x4 drivin, apostrophe hatin, hiking chick who loves camping on snow

spaceship..
Canada

7209 Posts

 Posted - 06/22/2007 :  11:22 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have the fastest speed ever and Im not telling you what it is
Page: of 2 Topic  
Next Page
 All Forums > Lodge > The Lodge Bookmark and Share     Reply to Topic

Register | Active Topics | Top 10 | Search | Guidelines | Report Spam